Galeria de la Raza
Back About the Archive View by Artist View Exhibitions by Year ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ Galeria de la Raza Home
  Marylene Camacho
Francisco X. Camplis
Monica Canilao
María Fernanda Cardoso
Tony Carranza
Barbara Carrasco
 Graciela Carrillo
Victor Cartagena
Richard Bluecloud Castaneda
Eugenio Castro
Melanie Cervantes
 Enrique Chagoya
Liz Cohen
Lawrence Colación
Papo Colo
Rocio Con Hong
 Jaime Cortez
Luis Cruz Azaceta
Rudy Cuellar
Culture Clash
Los Cybrids
  Participated in the Following Exhibitions Digital Mural Project: Los Cybrids <2001>
Digital Mural Project: Los Cybrids <2001>
Los Cybrids: Tecno-Putografía Virtual <2001>
Digital Mural Project: Los Cybrids <2001>
SU ARTE HERE: Five Years of Galería’s Digital Mural Project <2005>
Related Media for this Artist
1 3 0

Los Cybrids

Los Cybrids: La Raza Techno-Critica (1999-2003) was an artist collective of three Latino artists (René García, John Leaños, and Praba Pilar) dedicated to the critique of cyber-cultural negotiation via tecno-artistico activity. Los Cybrids ascribed to the increasingly widening liminal spaces of culture, hybridity and decentered identities reinforced by the new electronic technologies. As Latino artists working with digital technologies, they represented a demographic disproportionately underrepresented in the frenzied race to be connected. Their work employed performance, burla and high-tech art to undermine the passive acceptance and unacknowledged overarching social, cultural and environmental consequences of Information Technologies (IT). Los Cybrids collective created work from 1999 to 2003. They have since disbanded and are no longer producing new work under this name. Los Cybrids' performances, performalogues (performance/panel discussions), digital murals and installations received support from Galería de la Raza (SF), the LAB Gallery, the Creative Capital Foundation, the Zellerbach Family Foundation, the Creative Work Fund Award, the Potrero Nuevo Fund Prize, a program administered by New Langton Arts (SF); and Media Alliance.